Cornmeal Pancakes

Bogdan and I have been having eggs for breakfast almost every day, so we haven’t really been hungry for “breakfast foods” during the rest of the day.  Finally yesterday, though, I made pancakes for lunch.

I really like the taste of cornmeal pancakes.  There is something about the texture (and flavor) that I especially like in comparison to “regular” pancakes.

This is one of the recipes I stole from my mom’s collection before I got married.  I like my recipes to be really simple.  If there were more directions on her recipe card, I didn’t write them down.

I know, from making pancakes in the past, that you sift together the dry ingredients, mix the wet ingredients, mix together just until moistened, and fry.  Very easy.

I don’t have a griddle like my mom has, so I used two skillets.

We were so eager to try our maple syrup that we got in Amish Country shortly before the wedding!

Do you like “breakfast for lunch?”

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Cornmeal Pancakes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cornmeal Pancakes

  1. maiamajumder says:

    My hubby-to-be LOVES cornmeal pancakes and I’ve been looking for a recipe to try… This might be the one! Thanks for sharing, Bonnie. 🙂

    PS: I love breakfast for lunch, personally. Breakfast foods are typically more filling than others (they need to be considering their conventional use!), which make for an excellent post-workout meal!

  2. Pingback: Cornmeal Pancakes and Strawberry Syrup | Recipes Happen

  3. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: The Big Catch-Up | Recipes Happen

  4. Pingback: Breakfast | Recipes Happen

  5. Chef Randall says:

    Oh yes pure maple syrup. They look great Bonnie, I can smell them now..making me hungry.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

