My Red Pepper Hummus on Matzah

Dilemma:

I really like hummus, but it’s really hard for me to pay $4+ for a small container of it!  I have had homemade hummus before and it’s “ok,” but not as good as some I’ve bought.

Solution:

I created this Red Pepper Hummus recipe.

It’s cheaper than store-bought hummus, and just as delicious!

So what did I put in it?

My kitchen yesterday – hummus in the blender, chicken cooking, and homemade matzah cooling on the stove.

Red Pepper Hummus

Ingredients:

1 15-ounce can garbanzo beans, drained (can use the equivalent amount of prepared dried beans)

1/2 cup sour cream

Salt to taste (it takes quite a bit for my taste!)

2 teaspoons canola or grape seed oil

1/3 red bell pepper, chopped

water to reach desired consistency – probably several tablespoons

1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic

Directions:

Add everything to blender except water.  Add water, one tablespoon at a time, to aid mixing and to reach desired consistency.  Mix on medium-high speed until smooth.

 

I, personally, like hummus on just about any anything – white bread, pretzels, veggies, you name it!  This week, though, I decided to make Homemade Matzah with the recipe from my sister Tammy’s website.  It was excellent with hummus!

As a side note, this is where I put my recipes while I cook: on the side of the fridge.

If I print a recipe and like it I paste it into a notebook full of recipes from magazines and online, which is my homemade “cookbook.”

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Red Pepper Hummus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Red Pepper Hummus on Matzah

  1. I love hummus too, but I should probably wait until I have a real blender before I try this one. The little cup blender I have now may not do the job. This looks like a great recipe.

  2. thecleverspender (Rebecca) says:

    This sounds good! I will be trying this!

  3. thecleverspender says:

    This sounds good! I will be trying this!
    Rebecca ( thecleverspender.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

