Chicken Marsala

“Babe, you finally did something right.”

I’m not sure if that was a compliment from my husband or not, but chicken marsala was definitely the right decision for tonight.  I had a recipe for it which I didn’t completely follow – so I will share my recipe.

Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

salt and black pepper to taste

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 onion, chopped

3/4 cup marsala wine (I found it in the cooking wine section at Kroger – didn’t see it at Walmart or Aldi)

2 6.5-ounce cans of mushrooms, drained (or fresh mushrooms!)

1/2 cup chicken broth

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1/2 cup milk

2 tablespoons cornstarch

8 ounces fettuccine (I had to use spaghetti because I was out of fettuccine)

2 tablespoons chopped parsley, to garnish, optional (I didn’t have any but I sprinkled some dry parsley into the broth)

Directions:

1. Season chicken with liberal amounts of salt and pepper.

2. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add onion; cook and stir until translucent.  Add marsala; cook 2 to 3 minutes or until slightly thickened.  Stir in mushrooms, broth, and Worcestershire sauce.  Add chicken.  Cook, covered and at a low temperature, for about 50-80 minutes.

3. Transfer chicken to cutting board.

4. Blend milk and cornstarch in a small bowl until smooth.  Stir into cooking liquid.  Cover; cook 15 minutes or until thickened. (If your chicken is really juicy you may need to add additional cornstarch or cook uncovered.) Season with salt and pepper.

5. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain and transfer to a large serving bowl.  Slice chicken breasts and place on pasta.  Top with sauce; sprinkle with parsley.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Chicken Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken Marsala

  1. Tammy L says:

    Looks yummy!

    How do you like your new cookware? Working good? 🙂

  2. Yes, I love it! 🙂 (Thanks!) Working Great!

Leave a Reply

