Cloves Sugar Cookies

1

I know, I know.  It’s not time for Christmas baking yet.  But making cut-out cookies is so fun, I really think you can safely get away with doing it more than just at Christmas time.  And Christmas cookies are not any less delicious in November.

My favorite sugar cookie recipe is from an old cookbook, copyright 1903, that my mom found second hand quite some time ago – Household Discoveries by Sidney Morse.  We gave them the name of “Cloves Cookies” and make them many ways – with or without frosting, plain circles, or cut-out.  Several years ago, my sister shared the recipe here.

Cloves Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:
2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3 eggs
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (use 4 – 4 1/2 if you’re making cut-out cookies)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

Directions:

1. Cream butter and sugar together.  Add eggs, flour, baking powder, nutmeg, and cloves and stir until well mixed.

If making round cookies, form 1-inch balls, place onto greased cookie sheets, press down with your fingers, and bake at 375°F for 10-13 minutes.  Cool on wire racks.

~

If making cut out cookies, refrigeration is not necessary, although it can be helpful.

Roll out 1/3-1/2 of the dough at a time on a floured surface.  Don’t roll it too thin or too thick – just about 1/4 inch thick, or as desired.  Cut cookies.  Place onto greased baking sheets, and bake at 375°F for 10-13 minutes.  Remember that little cookies may have to be removed from the oven sooner than large cookies.  Cool on wire racks.

If you put frosting on these cookies, I recommend butter frosting!  This is another recipe from my mom, but I don’t know where it originated.

butter frosting_smallerJust whip it up either by hand or with an electric mixer, color it if desired, and have fun decorating!

2We certainly did.

3

4

 

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cloves Sugar Cookies

  1. I’ve always hated sugar cookies–but then, my mom made them with shortening (ick!) The butter and the clove make this sound tempting. I’ll give them a try…

  2. Mary Ellen says:

    Thanks for this recipe. I love the recipe card you use. So cute.

Leave a Reply

