Asparagus Season

asparagus and peppers_blogI haven’t posted lately; I have been around but busy. :) When I am not at work I have been doing a little spring cleaning (tossing/giving away a lot of things I haven’t used for a few months), visiting friends, planning our trip to Europe at the end of the month (!!) and, yes, cooking.

My mom has given us asparagus from her garden when she has seen us recently, and I just love it!  It’s so delicious and tender, and I love finding new ways to fix it.  I love making it with my Venetian Apricot Chicken recipe (and it’s so much better than the store-bought stuff I had for those pictures).

I have also been baking it with olive oil, salt, garlic, and ginger.  I tried that with some orange bell pepper (unbaked picture above) and that was a delicious combination as well!  Another great way to make asparagus is this simple Asparagus and Onions recipe.

Have you gotten any fresh asparagus this season?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Asparagus Season

  1. Love asparagus too. Not normally, but when it’s in season I can’t get enough. I recently roasted it with a balsamic reduction. I definitely recommend! http://bklynlocavore.com/2013/05/15/simple-sides-balsamic-roasted-asparagus/

  2. athegallant says:

    Height of asparagus season here in the UK ! It’s so tender and nearly sweet this time of year. I like doing mine in a pan with olive oil, lots of black pepper and a pinch of Maldon salt – then squeeze over half a lemon and cook until the skins have turned just a bit dark in the lemon juice. Really good with fish.

  3. Mary-Ellen says:

    Oh, I have missed your posts. Glad you were enjoying yourself. I will be making that delicious sounding chicken dish this weekend. Thanks.

  4. Jayne says:

    Hey Bonnie, I haven’t been receiving any notifications of new posts from you lately and decided to come by in case I was missing it. Are you ok?

Leave a Reply

