Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Using Eggs

kttovenmittbanner425

It’s been a while, but I’m doing it again!  I’m linking to Tammy’s Recipes for another Kitchen Tip Tuesday!

Sometimes we eat lots of eggs.. so many that we run out before I can get more.  Other times, if we’re not in the mood for eggs for breakfast, they sit in the fridge a little longer.  So I thought I’d share some great ways to use up eggs if yours have been sitting there for a while.

1. Breakfast (duh!)
2. Make a batch if cookies and freeze the dough for later.
3. Make pudding!
4. Hard boil eggs to eat with salt, use on salads, or make deviled eggs.
5. Make homemade noodles
6. Quiche*

*Try just putting a couple scrambled eggs, some ham or turkey, and some yummy cheeses into a pie crust and baking it at 350 degrees for about 30-40 minutes… you will be pleased.

Now… how do you tell if your eggs are still good when they have been in the fridge for a while?  Obviously the expiration date is a good indicator, although it’s not always the final authority and some of us are also using eggs from local farms.

Place your raw eggs in a bowl of water and if any float, get rid of them!

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Using Eggs

  1. Thanks for the tips! I want to eat that brownie on your website title!!

  2. I haven’t had devilled eggs in a while – but those look great.

  3. Love this! I have the same ebb and flow with eggs. Another idea – Paleo waffles! They taste like waffles but really have a ton of eggs in them, and very little (coconut flour). Delicious, I promise!
    mix 6 eggs, 1/3C coconut flour, 1/2t baking soda, 1/2t salt, 1/2t cinnamon, 1 mashed banana, and 1/4c melted coconut oil. Waffle iron. Protein deliciousness. :)

Leave a Reply

