First attempt at Homemade Crepes!

Homemade Crepes_smallerI ought to just say, first of all, that I don’t know why I had never made crepes before today.  I think I am now going to turn into a little crepe-making-machine, because I have all sorts of crepe-related ideas I want to try in the very new future!

More dessert crepes, breakfast crepes, herb-y crepes, the list goes on!!

But I digress.  I should be sharing with you all how I made these amazing and beautiful crepes!

I really had no idea where to start with a crepes recipe, so I just searched online and decided to more-or-less make a recipe from the food network.  I made it a dessert style, so I’ll tell how I did all that…

Fruit & Cream Cheese Crepes

2 eggs
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup water
1 cup flour
3 tablespoons melted butter
4 teaspoons sugar
butter for coating pan

homemade fruit syrup (I used my recipe for strawberry syrup, except I used raspberries!  The less sugar you use in your syrup the more diet-friendly this dessert recipe will be!)
warmed cream cheese

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and pulse for 10-20 seconds.  Place crepe batter in the refrigerator (I poured mine into a bowl first) and allow to chill for 1 hour.*

2. Heat a skillet,** adding a small amount of butter to coat.  Pour approximately one ounce of the batter into the center of the skillet and spread evenly with a spoon.

At this point, the original recipe said to cook for 30 seconds, flip, and cook for another 10 seconds, then remove to a cutting board.  I did several of mine this way, and they were really delicious.  Example of one cooked for that amount of time:

homemade crepes 4My husband, however, requested that I make some for him that were a little more browned.  Here is an example of one cooked a little longer, but still very flexible:

homemade crepes 23. Continue cooking until all the crepes are done, laying them flat on top of each other as you finish them.  The original recipe suggests:

“After they have cooled you can stack them and store in sealable plastic bags in the refrigerator for several days or in the freezer for up to two months.  When using frozen crepes, thaw on a rack before gently peeling apart.”

4. To make these into dessert crepes, spread a small amount of cream cheese on the flat crepe, and then roll in your choice of style.  Top with fruit syrup and enjoy.

*I don’t know how necessary this step is, but that’s what the original recipe said to do and I did it… so I don’t know otherwise.  It said it will “allow the bubbles to subside so the crepes will be less likely to tear during cooking.  The batter will keep for up to 48 hours.”

** I used a non-stick skillet and have heard that recommended, including the recommendation in this original recipe.  But I know with plenty of butter a nice stainless steel or cast iron skillet would work just fine.

homemade crepes 3homemade crepes raspberry syrupmmmm, we love raspberries here :)

Honestly this recipe was just super easy.  I emphasize this point because I used to think they would be difficult to make, but I was completely wrong!  So I want to share the good news. :)

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to First attempt at Homemade Crepes!

  1. Wow, those look good… and so smooth! I have terrible spatula skills, but I should try this!

  2. Chef Randall says:

    Your first attempt at Crepes. They look wonderfully delicious. Raspberry is great, love those little berries. We use orange marmalade for the syrup on our crepes. Good job Bonnie, you conquered the kitchen once again!! :)

    Thanks for sharing.

    Chef Randall

  3. The nice thing about crepe batter is that you can make it the night before and have them for breakfast. I love them just plain with a little butter and powdered sugar!

  4. Tammy L says:

    You… you… YOU COOKED FRESH RASPBERRIES?! Sorry, mine never would have made it into the cooking pot… they’re too good fresh. ;) So next time you need to use some real whipped cream (cream, sugar, and vanilla) and dollop that on top, then sprinkle fresh raspberries on top, and eat that way. :D

    Crepes are really yummy; glad yours turned out so good! My favorite way is with white whole wheat pastry flour. soooo flavorful and tasty! The white flour ones taste like cardboard to me now. ;)

    • Actually… they were frozen raspberries from Aldi. ;) But I agree, if they were fresh, they likely would not have made it to the pan.
      I’m glad I don’t have the elevated taste buds that you do and I can still enjoy the cardboard crepes. ;) ;) J/K

  5. Jayne says:

    I love crepes on the browner side as well. Nutella is my filling of choice. Can you blame me? ;-)

  6. Leilani says:

    We LOVE crepes! Such a pretty raspberry sauce. Will have to swap it for our usual apricot jam.:) Great first attempt!

Leave a Reply

