Cranberry Apple Muffins – a Fall Must-Bake!!

My sister Tammy shared her recipe for cranberry apple muffins with me, and I couldn’t wait to share it on my blog after I was totally and completely happy with how they turned out!  Actually, these pictures are from the third time this week I’ve made this recipe!  They are that good.

I don’t take credit for this recipe, but I do take credit for how many pounds this recipe caused me and my husband to gain. ;)

Cranberry Apple Muffins

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, melted

1 egg

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 large or 2 small baking apples, peeled, cored, and chopped into small pieces

1 cup fresh cranberries, washed

Directions:

1. Cream butter and sugar in a small mixing bowl.  Add egg and milk, mixing well.

2. In large mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients, stirring to combine. Add egg mixture and stir just until moistened.

3. Blend in cranberries and apples just until mixed.  Spoon into 12 lined muffin cups and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

These muffins are so good!  Also, there is a lot of fruit in them, as you can see, so they are a lot better for you than some muffins. :) (Justify, justify eating many of them!)

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Cranberry Apple Muffins – a Fall Must-Bake!!

  1. Leah says:

    These look soooo delicious!

  2. Katie says:

    These sound great! I love apple and cranberry in baked goods, it just screams fall. I will definitely hang onto this recipe to make for breakfast when our relatives come to stay for Thanksgiving!

  3. I wonder if one could susbstitue orange juice for the milk? Mmmmm … I’ll bet they smelled so good baking!!!

  4. Skuggs says:

    Bonnie, as with everything else you make, these look amazing! And I DO need knew ways to use up my slowly diminishing bushel of apples.

  5. mary says:

    Can you use spelt flour in these instead of all purpose flour?

    • recipeshappen says:

      I have not tried this recipe that way, but I think they would still be good!
      There is so much fruit to make these muffins moist, and I think although they might not have the exact texture with spelt flour, it could still be very good.
      (If you try it, please let me know! :-))

  6. MrsWilkinson says:

    I’m going to have to try these! Not on my Paleo diet, but they look amazing! :)

  7. Leah says:

    This is hilarious to me because I thought I was the only one that had this mentality towards getting sick. I totally think myself healthy (& chug OJ!). Great recipe too! :) Hope you feel better!

  8. petit4chocolatier says:

    These sound and look delicious!

  9. skilletgirl says:

    Bonnie, these look fantastic. Anything with cranberries is number one in my recipe book!

  10. I’m going to try these. I have frozen cranberries and a boatload of apples. :)

  11. These look soo good! I really like the combo of spices and fruit- I can almost smell it, just thinking about it! Will surprise my family with some of these for our Early Thanksgiving! Keep up the good work!

  12. Healthy Glow Nutrition says:

    These look wonderful and delicious! I might try to make these gluten free.

  13. Bonnie,
    Excited to finally be making these! But, was wondering, what are the best baking apples?

  14. Catherine says:

    Aldi has cranberries 2/$1 right now! I bought a couple extra bags today and plan on trying these. :)

    • Great! Let me know how they turn out – what a great price!

      I love making these with Ocean Spray cranberries with $1/1 coupons, making them about the price you mentioned at Aldi. :) I bet these muffins would be good with frozen cranberries, too, if you had/have extras!

  15. Catherine says:

    Made them today finally… Love them!! :) So so good! I’m glad I still have a couple cups of cranberries left. ;)

  16. Chef Randall says:

    I like apples and cranberries. Can you make this into a bread and not cupcakes? I have a recipe for Orange Cranberry muffins and I make a 9×9 cake out of it. Keep letting your ideas Happen.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

