Apple Crisp

You can’t go wrong with apple crisp!  It’s almost like apple pie, but so much easier!  You also can’t go wrong with a recipe from mom, and that is exactly what this recipe is.

Apple Crisp

8 cups cooking apples, peeled and sliced

2 tablespoons lemon juice (if apples lack tartness)

2/3 cup flour

1 1/3 cups packed brown sugar

1 1/4 teaspoons cinnamon

1 1/5 cups quick or regular oats

2/3 cup melted butter

1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds, optional (I didn’t have any today)

Directions:

1. Place apples in a greased 9 x 13-inch pan.  Sprinkle with lemon juice. (Today I used gala apples and I did use the lemon juice.)

2. Combine flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and oats.  Add melted butter.  Mix until crumbly.  Sprinkle over apples. (I use my hands to disperse the crumbled topping.) Sprinkle sunflower seeds on top, if using.

3. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for between 30 and 50 minutes or until apples are tender. (Apples have different baking lengths.  I suggest checking with a fork at 30 minutes, and then every 10 minutes after.)

Unbaked

Baked

This is great served with ice cream, and it’s also good by itself.  I prefer mine after it’s cool.  I store this on the counter but uncovered so the topping doesn’t get soggy.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Apple Crisp

  1. EverdayLivingPNW says:

    How did you know I love apple crisp!! So much tourture in this post hehe!

    • lol!

      Apple crisp is just the best! Imagine my delight when I got five and a half pounds of apples at Walmart for $5! :-)

      I hope you can try this recipe, but if not… enjoy the view! ;-)

  2. Allison says:

    I am so excited to see this post. My daughter made apple crisp at school this last week in honor of Johnny Appleseeds Birthday. She loved it and asked if I had the recipe, I did not. Until now! Thank you for sharing! We will be making this when she gets home from school today!

    • I’m so glad you found what you were looking for! Please let me know how it turns out!! :-)

      Bonnie

      • Allison says:

        The apple crisp was FANTASTIC! My daughter Jo (she will be 7 Nov. 1st) was so excited to get to make it and even more excited to eat it. Her teacher sent home the recipe from school and we were going to make it also but after tasting this apple crisp Jo said we did not even need to make the one from school because this one was sooo good. We will be making this one again and again! Thank you!!! Allison and Jo

      • I’m so glad!
        Thank you so much for coming back and commenting… I just love success stories!! Woo hoo!

        Bonnie

  3. Pingback: Apple Crisp Experiment | The Clever Spender

  4. Pingback: Apple Crumble « pebblejoy

Leave a Reply

