Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Making Homemade Tortillas (And why I love them!)

Linked to Tammy’s Recipes

For this week’s Kitchen Tip Tuesday, I thought I would share not just how I make my homemade flour tortillas, but also why I like to make my own instead of using ones from the store.

Flour Tortillas

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 cups white flour

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

3 tablespoons coconut oil

1 1/2 cups hot water

Directions:

1. Mix the dry ingredients, and cut in the coconut oil with a fork or wooden spoon.  Add the hot water (I heat mine to almost boiling on the stove) and mix until dough forms a ball.

2. Divide the dough into 8 sections for large tortillas, or more sections if you prefer to make them smaller.

3. Flour your surface for rolling out the tortillas.  Place one ball of dough on the rolling surface at a time, and flour the top of it as well.  Roll out dough in a circle until it’s about as thick as a store-bought tortilla, or just a little thicker.  I like to roll out all the tortillas at once before I begin frying them, and I place them between pieces of paper towel on a plate.

4. Heat a greased large cast-iron skillet to medium-high heat.  Place one tortilla in at a time, and after it’s slightly browned on one side flip it to the other side and turn heat to low until both sides are slightly browned.  I flip the tortillas carefully with my fingers, but you could probably also use a spatula.  Another frying option is having one skillet on medium-high and another on low, and simply moving the tortilla from one skillet to the other.

5. After each tortilla is finished, I run water over my hands and run my hands over the tortilla, front and back.  Place each tortilla, one on top of the other, between two of the paper towels previously used. (You could also use regular, washable towels for this!) The water equalizes and makes the tortillas more pliable.

Here are some of the reasons I like using/making homemade tortillas!

1. The ingredients are simple, and I know what they are.  They’re good for us.

2. You don’t have to remember to get them at the store.  You can just whip them up before a meal.  Keep in mind: they are best fresh, not leftover.

3. They’re cheaper!

4. When used in enchiladas, they don’t feel “chewy” like store-bought tortillas do. (And they taste better, too!)

Stuffing the tortillas for homemade enchiladas

And now, a word of caution: don’t check your Facebook or blog while you’re frying tortillas!  They might end up like this:

:)

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Bread, Kitchen Tip, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Kitchen Tip Tuesdays: Making Homemade Tortillas (And why I love them!)

  1. Pingback: Homemade Enchiladas | Recipes Happen

  2. J L says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I think I’ll try this recipe; I love tortillas, but storebought ones always seem overpriced for what they are, and have grotesque amounts of sodium (13% of the recommended daily limit in a single one). These would be much healthier!

  3. Great idea! The store bought is full of preservatives and other unknown garbage you don’t want in your system. I will definitely give these a go :)

  4. Lois says:

    Ooooh, I must have a go! I keep meaning to and then forget but your tortillas look so scrummy… I must do it!

  5. I’ve been meaning to try fresh tortillas for a while. Now that there recipe’s right here, I really don’t have any excuses. Thanks for sharing!

  6. You have inspired me to try making my own tortillas. I assumed I’d need a tortilla press, but you’ve demonstrated that I don’t. Thank you!

  7. Pingback: Stay-home Taco Night | Recipes Happen

  8. Kathleen McMullen says:

    Hi Bonnie, Your blog is so inspiring. When I am not in the mood to cook or bake, I just look at your blog and I am instantly motivated! BTW, I started making tortillas a few years ago when I found out that baking powder and baking soda trigger Afib (heart palpitations) for me. So I always make mine without either one. But I do add a little sea salt. Everyone loves them, even my husband, who grew up eating fresh tortillas from the taco stands in San Ysidro, says they taste almost exactly like the REAL Mexican ones. I like your idea of putting coconut oil in them, going to give that a try.

Leave a Reply

