Cornmeal Pancakes and Strawberry Syrup

 

 

I’m so glad my husband begged me to make pancakes today, because it gave me a good opportunity to use the strawberries we got for $0.49/pound at Aldi this week! (Special one-day sale we found.)

 

 

Of course, I made my favorite cornmeal pancakes!  If you haven’t checked out that recipe yet, you should!  I had never made a fruit syrup before, but that most certainly didn’t stop me!  I went to my sister’s ever-so-trustworthy website and used her recipe for strawberry syrup.  It was fabulous, so I’m sharing it here.

Strawberry Syrup

(slightly adapted from Tammy’s Recipes.)

2 cup strawberries (fresh or frozen – I had close to 2 1/2)

1/8 cup white sugar (I used just a little more)

1 teaspoon cornstarch (dissolved in a little water)

optional: a teaspoon of lemon juice if your strawberries, like mine, are store-bought and lack the flavor of homegrown strawberries

Directions:

1. Cut strawberries into halves or quarters (depending on preference; if the strawberries are fairly small you may want to leave them whole).

2. Place strawberries in a saucepan, pour sugar on top, and turn burner on medium.  Cover, checking occasionally and stirring until strawberries are soft.

3. When strawberries are done, the mixture should be fairly runny.  Turn off the burner, and mix in the cornstarch/water while stirring.

Tammy added: The syrup can be used hot or can be refrigerated and used cold, depending on your preference.

Is your mouth watering or what?

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Cornmeal Pancakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cornmeal Pancakes and Strawberry Syrup

  1. Katie says:

    This strawberry syrup looks SO good, and so easy to make, too! Thanks for linking to your cornmeal pancakes. It sounds like an awesome combo and I can’t wait to try it!!

    • I’m so glad you think so! :-)
      That Cornmeal Pancakes post was one of my first few posts, but it’s definitely worth bringing up again! They are so fabulous, almost as easy as using a mix, and sooooo much better. (No comparison!)

  2. These pancakes are making me regret the pie I had this morning. They look so good!

  3. I think we have an Aldi somewhere nearby. I should check it out – I didn’t realize that they had fresh produce. I know ours, at least, specializes in discount canned and boxed goods. Does that sound right?

  4. Love. love. love!!! Can’t wait for Saturday AM now :)

  5. thecleverspender says:

    Reblogged this on The Clever Spender and commented:
    These look amazing! I am going to try these this weekend!!

  6. Pingback: Saturday Upsides: Fun things about having a food blog | Recipes Happen

  7. Pingback: First attempt at Homemade Crepes! | Recipes Happen

Leave a Reply

