Crab Rangoons = SUCCESS!

I love eating crab rangoons at Chinese restaurants.  In fact, that is one of the main reasons I like eating at Chinese restaurants.  However, I can’t afford the cost of eating out for dinner when I can make food at home so much cheaper!

I decided to make my own crab rangoons, and they were a success!  I didn’t have a real recipe to follow, so I was kind of making it up as I went along, but it was great and my husband said they were the best crab rangoons he had ever eaten!  I’m not sure I would go that far, but they were very delicious and not nearly as involved as I thought they would be.

Crab Rangoons

6 ounces imitation crab meat, finely chopped (This is what I used, but I’m sure you could use other types of crab meat!  Just chop it/flake it into really small pieces.)

1 (8-ounce) package of cream cheese, softened*

2-3 tablespoons onion, finely chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon soy sauce

wonton wrappers

canola oil, for frying (I didn’t have enough canola oil today, so I used 1/2 canola and 1/2 grape seed oils.)

Directions:

1. Combine the crab, cream cheese, onion, garlic, and sauces.

2. Drop about one or one and one-half teaspoons of filling onto each wonton wrapper.  Depending on how big you want your rangoons to be or how you fold them, it will take a different number of wrappers.  Fold them however you want – triangles, rolls, flowers, etc. – and wet wrap with water to stick sides together.

3. Heat oil on medium-high heat in a skillet.  I don’t have a thermometer for oil, so I’m not sure exactly how hot it was.  I dropped some water off my finger into the oil and when it made some loud popping noises I knew the oil was hot enough.

4. Fry the rangoons (several at a time, if you want) on either side until browned.

5. When they’re done frying, place on paper towel on a plate.

As you can see, I made all sorts of shapes. Haha.

I love La Choy Sweet and Sour sauce.

Our favorite ones were the little rolls!  YUM!

*I was quite unwise and used cream cheese right out of the fridge.  Unless you want to be mixing forever and feel like you’re going nowhere, let your cream cheese sit out to soften a bit first!

This post is linked up to Delicious Dish Tuesday

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Crab Rangoons = SUCCESS!

  1. synthetikat says:

    This is awesome. I feel the same way about eating out and love going to Asian restaurants for these little guys. I’m going to have to try this asap. Kinda interested in maybe trying to make my own dipping sauce too.

    • Ooh, that would be a nice idea! Please, send me a link if you make a good sauce for these!
      I had a coupon for La Choy, and I like it anyway, so that’s what I bought it for this time.
      They were not that hard! They don’t LOOK absolutely perfect, but they were really tasty!

      • synthetikat says:

        Even some of the best looking dishes can be disgusting while the one that looks like a pile of slop is disgusting. If and when I get around to it (gosh darn bills) I will definitely let you know about a sauce :)

      • synthetikat says:

        Update: I tried making these twice. Now, my problem has been not being able to find wonton wrappers. Why? I haven’t the slightest. The first time I could only find rice paper/spring roll wraps. Do not try. It was tasty but had no crunch. The second time a friend of mine tried using croissant rolls instead. Wasn’t bad but still not the same. Moral: if you can’t find wonton wrappers use croissant rolls.

      • Thank you for sharing!
        Sadly, though – I wish you had better luck!! I take it you liked the filling then?
        I just happened upon the wonton wrappers at Walmart – in the the section in produce with the tofu and fake meat and stuff. (Why? I have no idea.)
        I’m glad you let me know how it turned out! I wish for you to find some wonton wrappers. :-)

      • synthetikat says:

        I’ll have to check there again. For all I know they were just out of them. The filling was fantastic. My friend and boyfriend loved it as well.

        It wasn’t a total loss as it was all tasty just lacked that really nice crispy crunch it deserves.

  2. I want to thank you so much for sharing this recipe! Not only is it super easy and not intimidating (anything other 8 ingredients and I run away screaming) but your pictures make it look absolutely mouthwatering. This will definitely be tried in the near future :) Pinning, too!

  3. I LOVE crab rangoons! Thanks for posting this recipe!
    http://www.gltizgirlzglamourguide.com

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    This looks delicious! And I have made the same gaffe with cream cheese many times. Thank you for the recipe!

  5. fooditude85 says:

    These look yummy!! Going to try them soon!!

  6. Pingback: Crab Soup | Recipes Happen

  7. I’m so impressed. The Chinese place my boyfriend and I used to go to would always give us those for free if we had to wait for 5 min for our takeout… sometimes I’d go early just so I’d get them ;-)

    BTW,
    I’ve nominated you for the “Liebster Award”! Check it out, and thanks for having a great blog :)

    http://wp.me/p1ZUgD-yi

  8. wee eats says:

    Boyfriend would love these!!!

  9. These look great and pretty easy. I’m definitely going to try making these!

  10. Pingback: Homemade Sweet and Sour Sauce | Recipes Happen

  11. susiemaeday says:

    Crab rangoons are the only reason I eat Chinese food! I am going to make these as soon as I get unpacked from moving and back into a kitchen! But since I’ll have to wait a few days for that, I’ll just order Chinese tonight. YUM!
    It’s exciting when you can create your own dishes from an old favorite, sounds like you nailed it!

  12. My husband is going to be thrilled to have this recipe! I don’t eat seafood, but I am sure this is good and he’ll be a good judge. :)
    Thanks for linking up again! Come by tonight and share another!

  13. I saw this on your sidebar….I must make this.

  14. I judge chinese restaurants on their crab rangoons. Crazy but there you are. This looks yummy so I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

