Stuffed Mushrooms

There are no words to describe the stuffed mushrooms we had for supper!  You would think that since four out of the last five of my posts were about the fresh mushrooms I have from Aldi that I would have already thought to make stuffed mushrooms.  However, that is not the case.  The idea just came to me today, and I immediately looked at a lot of blogs for ideas on how to make them, since I never had before.

I didn’t really follow any recipe I found, so here’s how I made my stuffed mushrooms:

Stuffed Mushrooms

(all of the ingredients are approximate – I’m sure you could vary them slightly!)

20-25 medium mushrooms

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh parsley

3 tablespoons finely chopped tomato

3 finely chopped garlic cloves

3/4 cup small curd cottage cheese

1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. Prepare mushrooms by cutting out stem and washing off any dirt.

2. Combine all other ingredients in a small bowl and mix well.

I think it looks a little strange… but trust me, it’s amazing!

3. With a small spoon, fill each mushroom with the cheese mixture and place onto a greased cookie sheet.

WARNING: You might want to use foil.  Some of the cheese WILL run out onto the cookie sheet and it will look a little bit scary.  I didn’t have any foil, and it worked just fine, but got messy.

4. Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for about 20 minutes, or until cheese is slightly browned.  Your kitchen will smell delicious.

Serve immediately and enjoy!

This post is linked up to Delicious Dish Tuesday.

About recipeshappen

I'm Bonnie. I'm a pharmacy technician and new wife to Bogdan. I love cooking, usually without recipes. I love good sales and coupons, but haven't quite figured out the best way to find them. I make the typical new-wife mistakes and have burned my share of cookies. I like a cold house and a hot shower all year long.
This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. YUM! I will definitely try these :)

  2. kat says:

    I pinned these! Can’t wait to try!!

  3. Becky K. says:

    So yum haven’t had stuffed mushrooms since christmas you’re blog is making me crave something mushroom for dinner tonight!

    Becky,
    http://pixiwishesforeheadkisses.wordpress.com/

  4. My husband would LOVE these!! Although I”m not a mushroom fan, I may have to make these for him sometime… :)
    Thanks for another great submission to Delicious Dish Tuesday!
    (BTW, I made your Hawaiian BBQ Chicken the other day! Added bell peppers cause I had some I needed to use. SO good, everyone loved it! Thanks so much!!)

    • AWESOME, I’m so glad you tried it! I think bell peppers do sound like a good addition!
      I enjoy participating in Delicious Dish Tuesday! I love stuff like that… I also do Kitchen Tip Tuesday at my sister Tammy’s site (Tammy’s Recipes) but would love more stuff like that to do. :-)

  5. januaryrowe says:

    Reblogged this on The Covenant Diet and commented:
    Totally making these as soon as my hard-core Daniel Fast is over!!!

  6. aliegan says:

    I’m definitely going to have to try these out the next time I make stuffed mushrooms…they seem so much lighter than mine…and cheesier! You can never have too much cheese :-)

    I use a Spinach-Garlic hummus to stuff mine with…check them out when you can…

    http://alisoncancook.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/spinach-garlic-hummus-stuffed-mushrooms/

  7. Lisa says:

    I love mushrooms. Will definitely have to try this recipe.

  8. I’ve been thinking about stuffed mushrooms all day and I think I’ve finally found the recipe I want to try :) Thanks for posting it!

    I’d love for you to come over to my weekend link party and link up some yummy recipes http://thebestblogrecipes.blogspot.com/ .

    Hope to see you there!

  9. I like the idea to use cottage cheese. Thanks!

  10. naomimgruer says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by and following my lifestyle blog Bmore Energy, http://bmoreenergy.wordpress.com. I haven’t made stuffed mushrooms in years and yours look delicious! I’ll have to try them.

  11. Barbara says:

    Well these are just yummy looking and I think I am going to try them when we have guests.

  12. dirkzea says:

    I’m making these for my housewarming party tonight. The filling tasted so good.

  13. Shelley says:

    These were great and easy to make! I added bacon and they were amazing!

Leave a Reply

